A May’s reflection on Feburary’s Work

Musical Entry: Doll of Misery tracks and two gifts I made for a friend.

Doll of Misery ~ Swords like Daggers :

For the first attempt I guessed the tempo of the original and tried to mix things up with the drums throughout.

Took about 2 & 1/2 hours

I was pretty content with it…..until I heard the original’s actual speed again (which I think is slower) and mulled over how to do it.

Around a week or two later I had acquired a new VST to my arsenal:

The EM-U Proteus VX

http://www.emu.com/promo/proteusvx/

(This is what I meant Ramon, when I said I found a good VST a while ago. Not the Mikro Prism, I messed up memory-wise)

And so I made this: Doll of Misery ~ Criss-Crossing Swords amidst a Curtain

It took roughly 2 hours as I redid all of the tracks within the first arrangement aside from the drums.

I really like the 2nd one more than the first but really, both are good. They just fit different moods I think.

Now, the requests. I had been requested to do Epona’s Song from The Legend of Zelda Ocarina of Time for a friend’s birthday and they had also requested a rendition of a song from  Ouran High School Host Club, an anime.

I couldn’t find a decent long midi base for Epona’s Song aside from a melodious version found at VGMusic. So I used it. Much thanks to VGMusic and the creator of that Midi.

http://www.vgmusic.com

I changed up the ending and I think it went well.

Hours of Work: 2

Epona’s Melodious Meadows

I found the midi base for Nocturne Pour Tamaki at Josh’s anime sheet music collection.

Found here: http://josh.agarrado.net/music/anime/index.php

This one took far more work to sound…..as a whole piece.

This is because the song was made with just a piano in mind. So the Midi only had had a piano. I used my “powers of extrapolation” to figure out other instruments that could work.

Hours spent: 3 & 3/4

Nocturne Reflection

And that’s all for today! I’ll update again soon! Really! ^__^;

Posted on May 4, 2011, in Musical Updates. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

